vienna

Turns out, Vienna wasn’t waiting for me. And I wasn’t waiting for it. I’m really not vibing with this city, which is disappointing considering I spent a couple hundred dollars to be here for four days. What I am vibing with, however, is the flat I’ve rented out and the sick new pair of Marni boots I bought at Chegini’s yesterday for half off. All right, the imperial architecture in the city center is pretty spectacular, as well—if only they’d have signs that told me what the f**k I’m looking at. In case you were curious, or just enjoy reading my whinging, here’s some more of what I’m not thrilled about: my sunburned face, my bank account balance, and the sad fact that I’m all out of chocolate. Vienna’s turned me into a whiny little brat. (“Turned?” my mother would ask incredulously.)

Now that I’ve gotten most of my complaining out of the way…

I’ve spent the entire day in this wonderful flat. I could live in Vienna if I could live here. It’s funny because yesterday I did a full face of makeup in the morning to get myself out. Anyone who knows me knows I usually can’t be bothered with painting my face; I just don’t feel the need. I will occasionally for parties or special occasions, or when I need to remind myself that yes, I can be pretty, but never for a day of sightseeing. But I was just so unmotivated yesterday that I decided to do it, a little pamper and a push out the door—because who stays in all day with a full face of makeup on? Probably some people, but definitely not me. And then today, I just lounged around all day inside, though I did manage to get dressed (if throwing on a t-shirt and shorts with no bra counts).

I’m waiting for The Wolf of Wall Street to download, as that’s how I’ve decided to spend my night: watching Leonardo DiCaprio play a greedy, alcoholic druggie. The film is fantastic. Fun fact that I neglected to mention in my last post (that has nothing to do with Leo, but is loosely related to cigarettes, which I suppose are a sort of drug) is that security at the Edinburgh airport took away my peanut butter, but let me keep my razor, lighter, and scissors. Can someone p l e a s e  explain to me the logic behind that? What, I’m going to knock the entire flight crew out with an almost-empty jar of peanut butter, but won’t kill them two at a time with my razor and scissors while simultaneously burning down the plane?

Anyway…

Here are some quotes I’ve found or been sent in the last few days.

“She wants everything because she doesn’t know what she really needs. One day she’ll settle for nothing.”
Shawn R. 11.29.09

“Tonight we’ll eat the innards together
We’ll sit at the large living room table separated by a cluster of dying stars.
An entire cluster
But I believe in us.”
Nashmarkt, Vienna

“do not place your self worth in your vegetable shape. you are better than that.”
Delaney J., my #1 G

“The air is alive with sound. Liberated waterfalls dance their way down cliffs and crevices.”
Terminal 12B, Keflavik International Airport

“Love is… Being owned by a Doberman.”
Sign at a tourist shop in Edinburgh

“Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world.”
Voltaire

“I felt my lungs inflate with the onrush of scenery—air, mountains, trees, people. I thought, ‘This is what it is to be happy.'”
Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar

“I think the problem is that we depend on our lovers to love us the way we should love ourselves.”

“Stop running after the waves. Let the sea come to you.”
Elif Shafak

“Psychologists say that shame ruins your capacity for reverie by making cracks in the mind where it is dangerous for thought to wander.”
Anne Carson, Float; “Shame Stack”
(It isn’t always shame though, that does it for me.)

“your words are still inspiring
if no one knows of them;
are galaxies less striking
when no one looks at them?”
(Here’s a philosophy puzzle for you.)

“if you want to be happy, be.”

“Do you ever wonder how many people’s dreams you’ve been in?”
And whose.

“Let your heart lead you, do not be afraid, for there will be much to regret if reason and sense and fear are your only markers.”
Tara Conklin, The House Girl

“Time is precious.”

“If it is important enough to you, you will find a way. If it is not, you will find an excuse.”

“Your naked body should only belong to those who fall in love with your naked soul.”
Charlie Chaplin in a letter to his daughter, Geraldine
Now this is a nice sentiment, Charlie, and by and large I agree with you that this is probably the ideal way of going about love and such in a perfect world. But should is a strong word; a woman should do what she pleases with her body and soul, naked or otherwise. I’m sure Mr. Chaplin’s heart was in the right place.

“Save water! Shower with your girlfriend.”
I just saw this on Tumblr and thought it was really funny. As an environmentalist (global warming is real!), I approve.

“I have been told, sometimes, the most healing thing to do is remind ourselves over and over and over: other people feel this too.”

“For most of history, anonymous was a woman.”
Virginia Woolf

“The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!'”
Jack Kerouac, On the Road

I really, really need to read On the Road, because I connect with every quote I’ve read from it. But there are just too many books, and too little time. I read seventy five books last year, while this year I think I’ve read around ten. It’s sad in the sense that I love reading, and would like to read more, but I’ve been doing so many other amazing things that I can’t regret it. It’s all been time well spent.

Until Next Time.
751707090435814070915

Leave a Reply

