Red Rising by Pierce Brown

20766595Novel: Red Rising by Pierce Brown | Goodreads
Release Date: January 28, 2014
Publisher: Del Ray (Random House)
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: DNF

The Earth is dying.
Darrow is a Red, a miner in the interior of Mars. His mission is to extract enough precious elements to one day tame the surface of the planet and allow humans to live on it.
The Reds are humanity’s last hope.

Or so it appears, until the day Darrow discovers it’s all a lie.

That Mars has been habitable – and inhabited – for generations, by a class of people calling themselves the Golds.
A class of people who look down on Darrow and his fellows as slave labour, to be exploited and worked to death without a second thought. Until the day that Darrow, with the help of a mysterious group of rebels, disguises himself as a Gold and infiltrates their command school, intent on taking down his oppressors from the inside.

But the command school is a battlefield – and Darrow isn’t the only student with an agenda.

Break the chains.

Live for more.

I wanted to love Red Rising. It’s been on my “to-read” shelf on Goodreads for awhile, but it wasn’t a priority until I binge watched Natasha of Tashapolis’ videos with author Pierce Brown a few weeks ago. Pierce Brown is incredibly handsome, funny, nerdy, and charming, so naturally I had to read his debut novel ASAP.

I made it 124 pages into the paperback edition of Red Rising, up to the beginning of chapter 17. That is when I realized that this is more of a library book for me, rather than I book I need to own. I returned both Red Rising and its sequel, Golden Sun, to the bookstore, and I have placed a request at my local library for the first installment. I definitely think my impression of Red Rising would be different if I had originally read it from the library, because I expect so much more from books I buy; I expect to love them. Red Rising is definitely good and intriguing, but it didn’t pull me in enough to keep it on my shelves.

You might be wondering why I am reviewing a book I haven’t finished, but I didn’t not finish Red Rising because I thought it was bad. It just wasn’t quite my cup of tea. The writing style is informal, and takes a little getting used to. I didn’t connect deeply with Darrow, the narrator and protagonist, though admittedly, I didn’t give him much time. The world Pierce Brown has created is very unique and cool and interesting, and I liked the influence of Greek and Roman mythology. Red Rising feels like a mix of dystopian and science fiction, though one could easily pretend it’s also fantasy. My main problem, I think, is that dystopian and science fiction are two genres that don’t hold much appeal for me. What I read of Red Rising was promising; I believe it is a good book. But maybe it just wasn’t a good enough book for me. What I’ve come to realize is that a really popular/good/hyped book may be all of those things for the right audience. But that doesn’t mean every one of those books will be amazing to me. Some people can’t get into Harry Potter; I have a friend who reads classics and romance and thinks that Harry Potter is rubbish because she never connected to it. I think that I may still finish and enjoy Red Rising, but for now, it’s not worth the time and energy for me to read it, and it wasn’t worth the money I spent to buy it because I know that I would never re-read it. I recommend Red Rising to readers who enjoy science fiction and space, have an interest in dystopian fiction, or think the premise of the novel sounds appealing. I’m positive that Red Rising will be an amazing book to some people; it just didn’t resound with me.

Thanks for reading.

751707090435814070915

One thought on “Red Rising by Pierce Brown

  1. Pingback: March Reading Wrap-Up | gemrene

Leave a Reply

