2015 End of Year Book Survey

2015-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984

Jamie of The Perpetual Page Turner created this incredibly reflective end of year book survey back in 2010. I participated last year and thought it was a lot of fun and a good way to look back on the year’s reading, so I decided to take part in the 2015 edition, too! Without further ado, here it goes.

Note: I completed this survey using only books I FINISHED in 2015 (there were plenty of books I started but didn’t get around to finishing).

reading-stats-2015-1024x278

Number Of Books You Read: 43
Number of Re-Reads: 3 (I’ve gotten so bad at re-reading due to lack of time and a huge list of unread books I want to read!)
Genre You Read The Most From: Hmm… Probably fantasy (mostly YA), but I read a fair number of contemporaries (for me), and quite a few “classics.”

best-YA-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?
QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Sarah J. Maas. Hands down. LOVED.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
I have two for this question: Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers (the conclusion to a trilogy whose first two books I adored) and I Was Here by Gayle Forman (one of my favorite authors).

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  
Good: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson blew my mind so unexpectedly.
Bad: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir because it was good but didn’t live up to being one of my most anticipated 2015 releases.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?
Well, only one person did, but THRONE OF GLASS, THRONE OF GLASS, THRONE OF GLASS. By my queen, Sarah J. Maas. Obviously.

 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?
Series start: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Sequel: I don’t have a resounding answer for this one.
Series end: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?
Marie Rutkoski and Brandon Sanderson (I’d been meaning to get to his books for forever.)

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
I read a lot of good books for school this year, but three stand out to me as some of my favorite school books ever, and even as some of my all-time favorite novels.
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
Ummmmmmmmmm Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. Is that even a question? Followed by A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas and The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson.

 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?
An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

11. Most memorable character of 2015?
Finch from Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places and Rowan Whitethorn from Sarah J. Maas’ Heir of Fire.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?
I’m not sure that beautiful is the right word, but I loved the writing styles in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven and Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. I also thought Khaled Hosseini’s A Thousand Splendid Suns was very well-written. Cassandra Clare’s City of Heavenly Fire had her typical humor and wonderful characters, and I think that, by this point, Sarah J. Maas’ books go without saying. Also, Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson was hauntingly beautiful.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I’M SORRY TO KEEP REPEATING BUT THIS BOOK IS AMAZING.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? 
Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas, The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare, A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

“It’s my experience that people are a lot more sympathetic if they can see you hurting, and for the millionth time in my life I wish for measles or smallpox or some other easily understood disease just to make it easier on me and also on them.” – Theodore Finch (All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)

“She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood and survival and triumph.” ― Aelin Ashryver Galathynius (Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas)

“‘You cannot pick and choose what parts of her to love.’” ― Dorian Havilliard (Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas)

“So we’ll just let things take their course and never be sorry.” ― Lois (Benediction by F. Scott Fitzgerald)

There are probably many more that I am forgetting, but those were the standouts in my Goodreads quotes list!

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?
Well, this is sort of lazy, but I don’t feel like checking the page counts of 42 books. According to Goodreads, the shortest “book” I read is A Rose for Emily by William Faulkner (which is a 17-page short story) and the longest book I read is The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson (763 pages).

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most
THE KISS OF DECEPTION by Mary E. Pearson!!! Plot twist!!! AHHH!!!

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

  1. Aelin and Rowan (Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas)
  2. Violet and Finch (All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
  3. Isla and Josh (Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins)

I have lots of ships but I’ll just leave it at those three.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year
You really should have seen this coming, but Aelin and Aedion from Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas!!! And, um, before that, it was Aelin and Rowan from Heir of Fire (if you reference question #18, you will see why I switched).

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 By An Author You’ve Read Previously
C’mon, now. Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, and A Court of Thorns and Roses, all by miss Sarah J. Maas.

21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
Not counting school books, The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson (recommended ages ago by Regan of Peruse Project).

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?
Finch from All the Bright Places and Rowan from Queen of Shadows. Runner-up: Josh from Isla and the Happily Ever After.

23. Best 2015 debut you read?
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
The Final Empire and The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson (fantasy), A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini (historical fiction), The Martian by Andy Weir (science fiction).

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan, City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare, Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. Oh, and like all of Sarah J. Maas’ books. 😉

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (bawled), The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (started tearing up in class), The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski (angry tears and threw the book across the room), Catch-22 by Joseph Heller (almost teared up). I’m sure there were others.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
Evertrue by Brodi Ashton was a fun conclusion to the paranormal romance trilogy Everneath. I can’t remember if I cried at the end, but I probably did at least a little bit.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?
Either The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien or Catch-22 by Joseph Heller.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski. I HATE MISCOMMUNICATION. ESPECIALLY IN CLIFFHANGERS. DESPISE IT. NO, NO, NO! (And yes, I liked this book.)

book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?
My lovely Canadian friend Annie’s book blog, The Runaway Reader.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?
Probably my review of An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. It’s lengthy, but very thorough and I spent a lot of time on it.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?
I really liked my Halloween Reading Recommendations post, and my discussion post about reviews.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?
I got involved with NetGalley for the first time this year, which is pretty cool. I sort of went crazy requesting books at first, thought, so I have a lot of catching up to do.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?
I joined Lit Up Review as a bimonthly contributor, which has been an awesome experience thus far. I’ve met a few book-blogging friends and I’ve LOVED receiving comments on my posts – it’s a huge blogging highlight for me.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?
While I think I’ve actually become more consistent with blogging regularly, my reading life suffered a serious setback this year. I developed other interests that occupied more of my time, and with extracurriculars and school and college applications, I’ve neither had nor made as much time for reading.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?
My most popular post was the Top 15 Books I Want to Read in 2015. My most popular review was All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?
Probably all my posts, to be honest. I’d rather receive comments than views because they’re more personal and interactive!

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?
I ordered from Book Depository for the first time and it’s awesome – now I can buy UK editions whenever I want! I also visited Waterstones twice while I was in London and loved it so much.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
I didn’t set a goal for the number of books I wanted to read this year because I didn’t want to put pressure on myself and wanted the freedom to read whatever I wanted. I read seven of the fifteen books I wanted to read this year (that had released prior to 2015) and started two others. And I read more “classics”!

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?
The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson and The Rose Society by Marie Lu.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?
SO MANY. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare, The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan, A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas, The Last Star by Rick Yancey, The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead, Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor, Heartless by Mariss Meyer, and the fifth installment to the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas, to name a few. 🙂

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
There are a few that I’m interested in, but I’m mostly looking forward to non-debut novels!

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?
Sequel: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
Series Ending: The Last Star by Rick Yancey and the untitled third installment in The Young Elites trilogy by Marie Lu.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?
Write more book reviews and read/re-read more!

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:
Like I previously stated, I am way behind on my NetGalley ARCs, so I don’t have an answer for this one!

What was the best book you read in 2015? Let me know in a comment below! 

Thanks for reading.

751707090435814070915

 

Leave a Reply

