Drag Me Down

Drag-me-down-One-directionIt’s been a long time since I’ve done a Song of the Moment post. But I’m finally back again with one, and to no one’s surprise (hopefully), my inspiration for this post is the new One Direction single.

Song: Drag Me Down
Artist: One Direction
Album: Drag Me Down – Single
Source: Bought on iTunes

Favorite Lyrics:
I’ve got fire for a heart
I’m not scared of the dark
You’ve never seen it look so easy
I got a river for a soul
And baby you’re a boat
Baby you’re my only reason

Drag Me Down is the first song One Direction has released since Zayn left the band earlier this year. But never fear, he gave his approval via Twitter:

Proud of my boys the new single is sick. Big love. 🙂 x

This song dropped just as I woke up the morning of my last day in Europe (the day I flew home). I listened to it on repeat in the airport and on both my flights. It’s catchy, has a great beat, and is a slightly different sound for One Direction: it’s a bit darker and more intense sounding than some of their other tunes. The lyrics are repetitive, but the boys switch up parts throughout so it’s never boring. Drag Me Down is unapologetic; I love it. And the guys look so happy in the cover art. Even better, the release was a complete surprise! The Drag Me Down music video was apparently shot a few days ago at the NASA Space Center in Houston, Texas. Needless to say, I am highly anticipating its premiere.

iTunes | Lyrics | Audio

Leave a Reply

