Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

20829994Novel: Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan | Goodreads
Release Date: August 19th, 2014
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
Also Published On: Lit Up Review

A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was like, Can we do this anonymously? Because I don’t need the Olympians mad at me again. But if it helps you to know your Greek gods, and survive an encounter with them if they ever show up in your face, then I guess writing all this down will be my good deed for the week.

So begins Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods, in which the son of Poseidon adds his own magic—and sarcastic asides—to the classics. He explains how the world was created, then gives readers his personal take on a who’s who of ancients, from Apollo to Zeus. Percy does not hold back. “If you like horror shows, blood baths, lying, stealing, backstabbing, and cannibalism, then read on, because it definitely was a Golden Age for all that.”

Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods is a collection of mythology stories surrounding the major Greek gods that is narrated by none other than Percy Jackson himself. The size of the book surprised me when it arrived at my doorstep last October – don’t expect to fit this one on your bookshelves next to your other Rick Riordan gems. It’s the size of the classic D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths, but is much heavier. The book can be read alongside or separate from the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series as it is a companion to Riordan’s other works. It is illustrated beautifully by John Rocco, the illustrator of all of Riordan’s beloved novel covers.

I am a self-declared mythology buff. I’ve studied it independently for most of my albeit short life and my mom integrated it into my curriculum when I was homeschooled. So I began reading this book with mixed expectations: I thought it’d be a fun, easy read but didn’t think I’d learn anything new from it. BOY, was I wrong. Rick Riordan really did his research, because though he tells the basic creation story of each god, he also includes SO many obscure details that I had never picked up on before. Each chapter is dedicated to a god and tells all sorts of short narratives about the god’s life and encounters with mortals and other mythological beings. Percy’s narration is hilarious and sarcastic and really the reason I picked this book up to begin with. He references characters from Percy Jackson & the Olympians and The Heroes of Olympus, and also throws in modern day references to technology, etc. that add humor to the stories. The book really feels like it was written by Percy, even more so than the PJO series did, and Percy never disappoints. If you love the PJO series you will adore this book, and if you read this one without ever having touched a Rick Riordan novel, I guarantee you’ll want to upon finishing.

Rick Riordan and John Rocco are releasing a second mythology book this August called Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes, a second PJO companion book chronicling famous Greek heroes and their tales. Like Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods, it will probably teach me something new and have me rolling on the floor laughing from Percy’s snarky commentary. For all Rick Riordan lovers, Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods is a must-read, but I extend my recommendation to all mythology lovers and book lovers alike because the charm of the illustrations, the captivating narration, and the notable details of the stories make this mythology collection unlike any other.

One response to “Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

  1. Pingback: 2015 End of Year Book Survey | gemrene·

Leave a Reply

