Happy List (2)

This is the second of my Happy List post series, which I began back in November.

1. A New Year
2015 is my last full year at home and that realization is crazy. I love the start of a new year because it’s full of hope and possibility and a willingness to change that we don’t find in ourselves often.

2. Russian Tea
My family went to Alaska two summers ago and my mom bought a bag of Russian tea. She’s made it sparingly since then, but the past few days we’ve had a consistent brew of it available and it is heavenly.

3. Cookie Dough
I’ve made several batches of cookies with friends and siblings in the past week but nothing beats a bite (or three!) of raw cookie dough. I’ve been nibbling on it as I’ve done a ton of Model UN research and it’s nice to treat yourself to a little reward after a lot of hard work.

4. Debussy
Clair de Lune is one of my favorite classical pieces; I find its melody soothing and nostalgic. However, as I’ve been working like crazy on my research and position paper, I’ve started listening to more of Debussy’s compositions. I’ve discovered quite a few more that I like.

5. Model United Nations
As much work as this club has been the past few days, I really really enjoy it. I love social studies; it’s one of my great passions. I’m interested in international business and international relations as possible majors in college and career paths. It’s nice to be surrounded by people who share my adoration for history and politics and I’ve learned a lot through my research. It’s hard work and I’m not sure I have it all figured out yet (this is my first year participating in MUN), but I’m proud of myself for trying something new and committing to it.

That’s my happy list for the week! A bonus I’d like to add is the book I’m currently reading, Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan. It’s full of stories that I already know, but Percy’s narrations and my love for mythology make this one a winner. It’s easy to put down when I need to work, but great for a few stories before dream catching. Bonne semaine!

Leave a Reply

