2014: Best Movies

I’ll be writing a few posts recapping 2014 and listing my favorites of different categories of entertainment. To be honest, I don’t watch many movies. There were some good ones I remember seeing on TV this year that released in prior years, but I can’t for the life of me remember what they were. So I’ll just stick to theater releases of 2014.

1. Maleficent
This film was absolutely amazing. Angelina Jolie and Elle Fanning blew me away. I loved the retelling of a classic fairytale from the perspective of the antagonist or villain. And the twist- how the film portrayed Sleeping Beauty as a false version of the story rather than just showing Maleficent’s side of things- was unexpected and refreshing, making me think.

2. If I Stay
I read this book years ago and to this day it is one of my favorite contemporary young adult novels. I thought the film represented the book very well. The film starred Chloë Grace Moretz and Jamie Blackley and I wrote a whole review of it here

3. One Direction: ‘Where We Are’ Live from San Siro Stadium
Being a huge One Direction fan, this film obviously made the list. The first half hour was an exclusive interview that I found both interesting and entertaining. The other hour was a well-made film of the boys’ concert in Milan from June of this year. I went to the concert in my city, but it was nice to relive the experience. The filmography was fantastic; I talk about it in this post.

4. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1
The Hunger Games movies are, in my opinion, some of the best film adaptions of books out there. Watching these movies is like watching the books and Mockingjay Part 1 was no different. The part of the book that this film represents is slower and less action-packed than the first two books. But I was surprised at how captivated I was for the two hours and some minutes the movie played. I thought the adaption was incredibly accurate, interesting, and well done. The soundtrack and acting were also phenomenal.

5. Into the Woods
I love musicals. The cast of this movie had so much depth and was extremely talented. I loved the combining of various fairy tales, the morality, and the acting. Daniel Huttlestone is one of my favorite child actors. The singing was beautiful. While there were some slow and, arguably, unnecessary parts, I still loved the film and would probably purchase it.

Well, there’s my list.

Movies are listed in order of release date.

Leave a Reply

