Two New Books

I was ecstatic when the books I ordered at the very tail end of Labor Day finally arrived on Saturday in a very beat-up Barnes & Noble box. I ripped open the box and lo and behold: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas and Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan, both in pristine condition and wearing the most exquisite covers.

Heir of Fire was my most-anticipated release of 2014. I love, love, love the Throne of Glass series, and I’ve waited just over a year to get my hands on the third installment. I heard about Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods at the beginning of summer and I knew I wanted to read it. However, being a mythology fanatic, I wasn’t sure I’d buy a copy when I already have several Greek mythology books. When I went online to B&N, I was planning to preorder Heir of Fire and maybe order an extra book (free shipping was my excuse). I had a coupon and Rick Riordan’s newest book was already marked down quite a bit, so I jumped on the opportunity.

Let me tell you, this book is BIG. Heir of Fire is a tall book, but Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods is a giant. The online picture was deceiving because it appeared to be the the same size as Rick Riordan’s books. Alas, it is not and will not fit on my designated Rick Riordan shelf. First World Problems… sigh.

John Rocco illustrated Percy’s accounts of the Greek myths and their origins, making the book gorgeous on the inside as well as on the dust jacket. He designed the new and original Percy Jackson & the Olympians covers, along with Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus and Kane Chronicles series. Heir of Fire matches the cover of Crown of Midnight and the paperback cover of Throne of Glass.

Here are my new beauties.

photo
Goodreads
Heir of Fire | Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods

 

Leave a Reply

