Shake It Off

Well world. Today I was going to write a post about my first day of school. But somehow it’s become quarter past eleven at night, and I truly do not have the mental competence to do all that pondering nonsense right now. So instead, I want to fangirl talk about Taylor Swift’s new single. “Shake It Off” debuted worldwide yesterday evening at five o’clock EST. And of course I was sitting in the driveway in my car listening to it. I came up with some pretty serious seated dance moves, if I do say so myself. 

This song is the rare type that makes me want to simultaneously dance while cleaning my room. It’s got an addicting beat and chorus that wedges itself right into my head, looping on repeat for hours while I swim and do math homework. 

I think “Shake It Off” has some inspiring messages for everyone, but particularly for Taylor’s huge audience of young girls. She sings about shaking off what others say, and that her own truth is all she needs. She sings about not being afraid to dance alone and make her own moves. And the whole song comes across as a Taylor having a positive attitude: everyone will do what they do, she’ll do what she does, and in the end, everything will be alright. These concepts translate into valuable lessons for adolescents and young adults, most of whom face judgement, gossip, and the challenge of fitting versus staying true to themselves on a daily basis. I think “Shake It Off”, while younger-sounding and very different from Taylor’s normal aesthetic (she talks, almost raps, through part of it), is a good, fun song with positive messages and a retort from Taylor to her critics. I appreciate how Taylor addresses some of her biggest criticisms in this song, like dating and breaking up too much. 

I go on too many dates
But I can’t make them stay
At least that’s what people say
That’s what people say

The music video is a bit silly, but it’s entertaining. After only one day, it has garnered almost ten million views on YouTube. Do I think it could have been better? Absolutely. It’s not a stand-out music video, but does it matter really? I’m not one who believes that everything an artist produces needs to be innovative and meaningful. I think that as long as they provide people with pleasure, there’s no harm done and no need to chip away at their work. (This is sort of turning into a rant, isn’t it?)

Taylor Swift’s fifth studio album, 1989, releases October 27th and is available now for preorder. I’m torn over whether to order it on iTunes so that I receive each single as it’s released, or to wait until the release date and buy the deluxe edition from Target, which comes with three bonus songs. Either way, I am so excited and can’t wait to hear more new music from my girl, Tay Swifty. 

Hear and see it for yourself
Music Video | Buy “Shake It Off” | Preorder 1989

 

Leave a Reply

